#NANTES : My favourite place in Nantes

Hello everyone!

Yes, I come to you with an article about what you should visit in the city of Nantes if you come, even if we are quarantine right now. First, because I have enjoyed these places. Secondly, because I think it can change your usual checking-the-news-about-COVID-19 moment with something that brings hope. But don’t go now ! Stay at home everyone.

I have made you a list of my 4 favourite places in Nantes.

 

1. Jardins des Plantes.

It is placed right in front of the train station. It is a big garden with various art exposed. Here some of my favourite examples of arts and places to see in this garden.

 

2. Les Machines de l’Île de Nantes

This is such a tourist thing to do in Nantes but of course, you have to see Les Machines! This is so impressive. Actually, it is one of the first things I did when I arrive in Nantes. I did the Elephant tour and the carousel. I also visited the gallery but they ask to not take many pictures. I did take some but I don’t want any problem so I’m not showing any haha. Also, I recommend going more into the neighbourhood, you can find some cool bars.

 

3. La Butte Sainte Anne

This a place a friend took me to when we were just randomly walking in Nantes because she saw a new installation during the Voyage à Nantes this summer and wanting to show me. Now it’s of my favourite place in Nantes!

 

It is called Le Belvédère de l’Hermitage. At la Butte Sainte Anne, you can also go to the planetarium or have an awesome view of the river La Loire.

 

4. The Memorial of the abolition of slavery

Nantes used to be big slave port and it’s a big part of the history of the city. Even if this place is full of history and memory, with the quotes of freedom speeches and poems, it’s also really relaxing I think. When there is nobody you can hear the water going on the walls and I believe they also add noise to do like if you were in a boat. I find it really relaxing and when I pass there and I need to think or relax, I go and sit inside. That’s a little bit weird but… you know we all deal with stress as we can !

 

K.♡

2 thoughts on “#NANTES : My favourite place in Nantes

  1. thanks for these great outing ideas. I would have new outings to do after confinement.
    My turn to share a place that I really like is the “Ile de Versaille” garden.
    It is located between the motte Rouge and St Mihiel stops on tram line 2.
    It is a garden inspired by Japanese gardens.
    It is very green and can be ideal for reading a good novel while having the impression of being in the countryside

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *